Google has turned into an ad engine with search as an afterthought

Credit

I know I’m beating a dead horse here, but it’s probably worth pounding it. 

This is a screenshot sent to me by a buddy in the US – it shows Google search results for ‘credit cards’. What you see is 10 advertisements, one of which is Google promoting its own wares, and only a single genuine search result at the bottom.

Look closely or you might miss it. Sadly, I know this is just one example of many.

So this is what it has come to.

What’s worst about this is that I get the impression that people have sort of come to terms with how Google has changed over the years.

It almost seems like the company thinks showing real search results are now a necessarily evil (get it?) they have to deal with in their quest to shove as many ads in your face as algorithmically possible. I understand why, even if I think this route will lead to Google’s downfall (which is still many years away, but I have no doubt it will occur).

What I don’t get is why people keep putting up with it.

How can you not consider switching to Bing or DuckDuckGo after seeing this?
4 thoughts on “Google has turned into an ad engine with search as an afterthought

  1. Hi RobinI have to disagree with you. I have used Google religiously for years… yes there are those annoying ads but Google has given everyone the option to customise how the search engine works. This is what i get when i search, notice no ads http://ge.tt/3h55rAH/v/0?c

  2. Google sadly is still better than Bing, DuckDuckGo , Bleko etc…I mean more relevant results and also I will not sidetrack the fact that we are all addicted to Google.I use Google heavily but i rarely look at the ads.

  3. @RiyadhGordon As far as I understand, you can disable the PERSONALIZATION of ads on Google Search, not the ads themselves (when you opt out, you still get ads but not personalized based on what Google knows about you). So I wonder how you did that… And maybe there’s an opportunity for an app that will strip the ads out of Google Search results? @cdn

  4. I use adblock to cancel out all the adwords I come across, so I don’t really have a beef with this. But it’s true that they have lost their way. And in the end this is what will cost them their head.

Leave a Reply

